I recommend you the book – “The Miracle of Mindfulness” by Thich Nhat Hanh

Book Recommendation: The Miracle of Mindfulness.

51dJc2Y4C9L.jpg

I heard about "Mindfulness". But not sure what is it. 
When I saw this book in the bookstore, I bought it. 

Have been reading it, half way now… and already it's changing me, to be grounded in the moment, slow down, less anxious and feel more connected in a way with my surrounding. 

Excerpt..
"The cup in your hands
In the United States, I have a closed friend name Jim Forest. When I first met him eight years ago, he was working with the Catholic Peace Fellowship. Last winter, Jim came to visit. I usually wash the dishes after we've finished the evening meal, before sitting down an d drinking tea with everyone also. One night, Jim asked if he might do the dishes. I said, "Go ahead, but if you wash the dishes you must know the way to wash them." Jim replied, "Come on, you think I don't know how to wash the dishes?" I answered, "There are two ways to wash the dishes. The first is to wash the dishes in order to have clean dishes and the second is to wash the dishes in order to wash the dishes." Jim was delighted and said, "I choose the second way — to wash the dishes to wash the dishes." From then on, Jim knew how to wash the dishes. I transferred the "responsibility" to him for an entire week.

If while washing dishes, we think only of the cup of tea that awaits us, thus hurrying to get the dishes out of the way as they were a nuisance, then we are not "washing the dishes to wash the dishes." What's more, we are not alive during the time we are washing the dishes. In fact we are completely incapable of realizing the miracle of life while standing at the sink. If we can't wash the dishes , the chances are we won't be able to drink our tea either. While of other thing, barely aware of the cup in our hands. Thus, we are sucked away into the future — and we are incapable of actually living one minute of life."

The author taught how, to slow down, to be aware of myself, to be presence in the moment.
Written in a very gentle tone. It's strange, easy and hard to do at the same time. 

If you feel that you are always thinking of "what's next to do" when you are doing something.. mind never seems to settle, and LIVE in the moment, because you are so busy DOING STUFF. I strongly recommend you to get a copy of the book, and read it slowly..and be grounded. 

Torrent: Link

Moses Hng
13 thoughts on “I recommend you the book – “The Miracle of Mindfulness” by Thich Nhat Hanh

  1. One thing that Nhat Hanh added to the advice he gave me on that occasion that has stuck with me ever since was the proposal that I should “wash each dish as if it were the baby Jesus.”

  2. Pingback: Start a Mindfulness-Based Think Tank « something to say

  3. Pingback: Unrealistic Expectations I’ve Learnt About Life « something to say

  4. I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  5. Be your individual advocate when it comes to your potential health care
    options. How many more must die before they are taken off the
    shelves entirely. Probability of inheriting, genetic possibility
    of alcoholism (disease) is all about fifty percent, whether one
    or both parents are alcoholic.

Leave a Reply

